Is Spring Break for Grading or Relaxing?

How many times have you started Spring Break with great aspirations and ended the week saying, “Well at least I got my car washed”?   Part of this week off for teachers is to relax, rest, and refresh. The other part is a mad scramble to play catch-up on grading and lesson plans before the end of the year. It’s the worst balancing act of all time because if we fail to catch-up on the grading, we come out of break more stressed than when we started.

Spring break is comingPart of the issue is that teachers spend WAY too much time grading homework and other papers that were meant for formative assessment – not for grades. When we do this, we reinforce the idea that school is about grades instead of teaching our students the importance of becoming a life-long learner. We perpetuate the notion that grades tell us how our students are doing, instead of using better measurement tools to see what they truly understand.

If I want to know where my students are on a certain concept, and I’m a high school teacher with 125 students, I can watch their 30-second reflections through Recap in just over 1 hour, and I get so much more insight as to what they do and don’t understand. What do I see if I grade worksheets which they copy from their friends, their parents, or somewhere online?

If I want to know where my students are with their vocabulary, I can check the data from Quizlet to see how well they’re doing with the posted lists (which I had students create). Or, I can use Schoology quizzes and tests so parents have better insight as to how their child is doing with the content being covered in class. Either way, I’m not spending time grading worksheets, quizzes or tests.

If I want to see if my Science students understand a process, I can watch screencasts they create with Explain Everything to demonstrate their understanding of the process. These 1-minute videos can be uploaded to Schoology, graded by using a rubric,  and that information is immediately available to students and parents so they know what they need to work on. If I return their lab report with a C+, does anyone really understand where they failed to connect the content?

So, as you prepare for Spring Break ask yourself, are you going to use this as a time to relax, rest, and refresh? Or are you going to spend your time grading your students’ worksheets that were done by their friends or their parents?

If you feel that teachers should be ‘working’ over Spring Break, I agree. However, our focus should be working on ways to innovate our lessons and our classrooms. Maybe that involves reading a book like Innovator’s Mindset or Ditch That Textbook, participating in Twitter chats like #1to1techat or #tlap, or collaborating on a new lesson with another teacher in a coffee shop. But please don’t waste your time grading things your students never did in the first place.

About Sean Scanlon

Director of Instructional Technology Marian Catholic High School Google Certified Trainer
This entry was posted in Assessments, Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

