#OneWord – Encourage

I wanted a word that encompassed more than just EdTech, more than just school (work), and most importantly – more than just me. Therefore, my #OneWord for 2016 is Encourage.

I want to encourage my family to #OneWordbe the best at whatever they pursue. My daughters are involved in various athletic endeavors, but many times I’ve confused applause for encouragement. Applauding my children for how well they’ve done at the en
d of a competition or season doesn’t always encourage them, but it does show them I care.  Cheering for your children during competitions doesn’t necessarily encourage them (especially when you’ve body painted for the occasion), it’s just something every parent is expected to do. In fact, if the only time they hear my ‘encouragement’ is during or after a competition, I’ve failed.

Encouraging your children is more about what you do behind the scenes.  It’s that positive & supportive response you give them when they’re struggling to keep up with their grades.  It’s the ability to listen and assist them in making difficult decisions. Most importantly, in regards to academics, I want to encourage them to follow their passions, continue to grow in their knowledge, and become lifelong learners.

At school, I want to use this same mindset to encourage our teachers with their integration of technology. I want to give that positive and supportive response when they are struggling to utilize a new tool. I need to listen to their needs and help them make the decisions as to which tool and what pedagogy works best for them. Most importantly, I want to encourage them to follow their passions, continue to grow in their knowledge, and become lifelong learners.

With my PLN, I want to use positive and supportive responses when others are struggling, or simply trying something new. I want to listen to other people’s ideas, theories, successes and failures so that I might learn from all of these. Most importantly, I want to encourage them to follow their passions, continue to grow in their knowledge, and become lifelong learners.

In 2016, take time to encourage your family, your co-workers, and your PLN.  If you take time to encourage others, I guarantee it will have a positive effect on you and your personal and professional growth.

About Sean Scanlon

Director of Instructional Technology Marian Catholic High School Google Certified Trainer
This entry was posted in Education, Technology, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #OneWord – Encourage

  1. Joy Kirr says:

    Sean, I want to encourage you to keep encouraging others! It can be something that is multiplied when people pass it on. I hope your encouragement is recognized and used to continue doing great stuff. 😀 Here’s to 2016!

Leave a Reply

